[-empyre-] --empyre- joins the celebration of the history of the listserv- empyre, crumb, faces, specter, nettle

Renate Ferro rferro at cornell.edu
Sat Sep 7 12:14:59 AEST 2019

Some may say the listserv is dead.  But is it?  Since 2002 -empyre- has existed as an online platform global community of new media artists, curators, theorists, producers, and others who participate in monthly thematic discussions.   -empyre- soft-skinned space will participate with other online structures and STWST and ARS electronica for a programmable online radio program from Linz on September 8, 2019 at 9 am EST  We will be feature special guest Melinda Rackham, -empyre-‘s founder in 2002, Simon Biggs long time moderator, Margaretha haughwout, Margaret Rhee, and  Nina Sobell with moderators Renate Ferro and Tim Murray. 

With over 2200 subsribers this listserv lives on.... celebrating UNFINISHED....

 If you are interested in joining in to chat or to just listen in here are the directions:
During the broadcast hour, open webbrowser to sign on IRC chat setup for stwst48x5 radio streams.    
    > IRC web browser
    > https://kiwiirc.com/nextclient/
    > click- Add a network
    > fill in server: irc.stwst.at
    > (no need to add password)
    > assign your own nickname
    > click Connect to Network, sign on to #stwst48
    > We will use this text chat to communicate during radio broadcast.
   2) Open another web browser,
    click on top yellow banner ‘POP-UP PLAYER”, click play to listen to live broadcast.
To chat and listen in, please
     follow STEP (1) and (2) or to only listen in (2).
        Mailing List Radio Stream Live STWST48x5 RADIO FRO
        SUNDAY, September 8, 12-5pm Linz, Austria  time
        12-1pm      Nettime  (since 1995), moderated by Ted Byfield and Felix Stalder
        1pm-2pm   crumb new_media_curating (since 2000), moderated by Beryl 
                           Graham and Sarah Cook
        2pm-3pm   Faces (since 1997), moderated by Valie Djordjević, Kathy Rae Huffman,  Diana McCarty, Ushi       Reiter.  
                            RADIO moderation: Elena Robles   Mateo
        3pm-4pm - empyre- (since 2002),  moderated by Renate Ferro and Tim Murray with guests
        4pm-5pm - Spectre (since 2001), moderated by Inke Arns and Andreas Broeckmann. Radio moderation: Geert Lovink


More information about the empyre mailing list